collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Quitting Facebook  (Read 2530 times)

Offline June

• Trade Count: (+8)
  • Bay Breeze Pony
    • View Profile
Quitting Facebook
« on: August 26, 2013, 05:49:06 AM »
I'm really proud to say that I'm finally getting rid of that thing! (well, sort of) I've been using it for years, since 2007 or '08, but with "fresh" profile every two years or so. I wanted to do it because I'm concerned about privacy, but I had to compromise since some of my friends refuse to communicate with me (and others) using anything else  :stressed:
It pisses me of, but there's nothing I can do. So I made a new profile, with fake name and nothing on it just for them, but I hope I'll get rid of that soon  :huh:

I'm currently deleting all the posts, tags and friends on my old profile manually (luckily there isn't much) because they tend too lurk on their servers long after you delete your account. I hope this will speed up the process. FB says before you permanently delete your acc, it'll take another 2 weeks to completely delete it (but not backups), but I heard some "horror stories" of people logging in after six months to check and their accounts were still there  :( I hope they mixed up deactivating and deleting.

What do you guys think of FB and what are your alternatives?
I'm using skype (not much better), a chat client called cryptocat, email (well, lavabit was closed recently so I lost my secure option) and (cell)phone.

Offline Dewprincess

• Trade Count: (+125)
  • Rapunzel Pony
    • View Profile
Re: Quitting Facebook
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 05:50:49 AM »
I'm sure I'll be on Facebook for a long time yet...it's the only way I have of communicating with a lot of my old friends since I've moved around a lot. 

Offline achab1984

• Arena Supporter
  • Trade Count: (+222)
  • Thailand Tornado Mountain Boy
  • Ponies make me smile! <3
    • View Profile