collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Tips on taking close-up pictures of jewelry?  (Read 305 times)

Offline TinyShinyUnique

• Trade Count: (+147)
  • Spain Piggy Pony
    • View Profile
    • UniqueSubtleTreasures
Tips on taking close-up pictures of jewelry?
« on: November 30, 2013, 08:11:41 PM »
I'm making from time to time jewelry and finally made the decision to try selling online in an etsy shop instead of a direct contact or advertising to friends and acquaintances. The thing is, each time I try to take pictures, I'm not satisfied with them. I've tried different angles, lightning, backgrounds and I think I got better in time, but still I think there is a lot to learn. The problem is I don't know where to start :cloud:

Can someone point me in the direction of some online resources that might help me out? I'm a total noob when it comes to cameras, so maybe my camera isn't suited to take good quality pictures? Are there any camera settings I should avoid when taking pictures? Or maybe you know some basic rules I should stick to? :blush: The only rule I know is to not take pictures with the lenses directed at the source of light.

This is how I used to take pictures (not edited):
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

And this is how I took them recently:

I try experimenting with composition and backgrounds, but I'm not sure if they work in my favor or they distract from the piece I'm offering. Getting the whole thing to look sharp with a zoom is quite hard too, but I suppose it's more the camera fault than the lack of my skill... Or am I wrong? I also use GIMP to later adjust the pictures, but I cannot shake off the feeling that they sometimes look very 'pixelated', grainy - it's hard to explain it in English for me, :huh: but maybe this picture will show you what I mean: