collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Dolly Illnesses and Maintenance Recommendations/Tips  (Read 11955 times)

spherogirl

• Trade Count: (0)
Dolly Illnesses and Maintenance Recommendations/Tips
« on: February 19, 2013, 07:33:06 AM »
Disclaimer: This thread is a Work In Progress. All information compiled in this thread is based on feedback from the MLP Arena Community and information found on the internet. All tips/tricks/solutions are not foolproof. This thread is meant to inform fellow doll collectors. Please do not try any of the proposed remedies in this thread on a doll you love before confirming that the result works for you on a doll you don't love.

This thread will be updated with new topics over time. If you have any suggestions or come across a problem you want help with, please post here! Please do not be afraid to correct me as I am just learning about many of these issues and how to fix them.

1. Plasticizer Leaching
Problem - Plasticizer used in limbs made with soft plastic can migrate to the surface of various dolly parts. This is commonly seen on the legs of dolls produced in the 80s and on the vinyl faces of some dolls (barbie primarily?).

Solution - This problem can be temporarily resolved by giving your doll a good wash with a mild cleanser, like dish detergent, and warm water. Some other websites and forums suggest using the Formula 9-1-1 cleaner. I've never used it, so I cannot speak to its effectiveness over a simple, good, cleaning.

Suggestions to delay additional leaching include applying talcum powder to the affected areas following cleaning or to apply rubbing alcohol. I've also heard/read that rubbing alcohol can draw additional plasticizer out.