collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Restoring Rusty BBE?  (Read 1049 times)

megsaroni88

• Trade Count: (0)
Restoring Rusty BBE?
« on: July 19, 2015, 05:06:01 PM »
I've never done any customization before, all I like to do is wash the ponies I find and restore their hair to the best of my ability. Still, in the first eBay auction I ever bought, a lot of the ponies were damaged (deceptive pics, I've learned my lesson) and among them was this baby Frosting:

visitors can't see pics , please register or login

The large pen mark I'm ignoring for now, and there are lots of tutorials for re-hairing, but the rusty eyes are the real problem. I've heard mention on lots of sites about how to clean the rust but I can't find one that has pictures or goes in depth about it. I'm wary about getting the head off, too.  :yikes: The closest I got was a tutorial about just getting rid of the eyes all together. I'm willing to try cleaning it though and considering the pony's condition I figured it wouldn't hurt to try because its practically undisplayable as is.

TL/DR: Anyone know how to fix rusty BBEs, or know a place where a tutorial is?

Offline Doedeardarling

• Trade Count: (+39)
  • Bay Breeze Pony
    • View Profile
Re: Restoring Rusty BBE?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2015, 05:20:23 PM »
Rust remover and q-tips seems to be the popular option. It's also possible to pop the eyes out and take them apart for a more throughout clean, but it's a bit more tricky and risky. That pen mark is most likely going to need some sun fading.

megsaroni88

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2015, 05:39:54 PM »
Rust remover and q-tips seems to be the popular option. It's also possible to pop the eyes out and take them apart for a more throughout clean, but it's a bit more tricky and risky. That pen mark is most likely going to need some sun fading.