collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Advice for someone who'd love to try plushies  (Read 914 times)

ponygirl74

• Trade Count: (0)
Advice for someone who'd love to try plushies
« on: December 23, 2014, 07:53:36 AM »
I'd love to try my hand at plushies - I crochet amigurumi animals so I have some skills with needle/yarn crafts but I'd love to learn how to sew with cloth - what's the best fabric to learn on? Is it easy to make one's own pattern when one gets the hang of sewing them following a ready made one? Is it a good idea to get a sewing machine  or is hand sewn strong enough on it's own? Any other advice that  experienced plushie  makers can pass on that I didn't ask about would be appreciated, thanks for reading Ponygirl74

SoaringSentinel

Re: Advice for someone who'd love to try plushies
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2014, 08:33:18 AM »
I am by no means an expert plushie maker but about a year or so ago i tried my hand at making one.

This is was the result.
http://s.mlpforums.com/uploads/post_images/img-1323904-1-img0548lz.jpg

http://s.mlpforums.com/uploads/post_images/img-2035571-1-9iex.jpg

I used a 3d model to make the patterns. the material I used was minky (which is really hard to find in this country so i had to import it)
how I made my patterns was by taking a 3d model I found online (the SFM version) and then uvw unwrapping them in such a way that they would work as sowing patterns. Unless you're familiar with 3d modeling and cg effects work, what i just said is probably a bunch of gibberish to most people. I have no idea how you would create an accurate pattern by hand. but like i said this was my first attempt and that's how how did it. Here's an example of some of the patterns i managed to make this way.

http://s.mlpforums.com/uploads/post_images/img-1257792-1-img0395ov.jpg