collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Dogs and rawhide.. waring to those that feed them  (Read 2431 times)

Offline slj84

• Trade Count: (+51)
  • Lil Sweetcake Sister Pony
    • View Profile
Dogs and rawhide.. waring to those that feed them
« on: March 13, 2013, 08:59:42 AM »
Im not sure if this should go into whats your problem, but it's not really something I'm complaining about, but more of a warning to those who give there dog rawhides.

Lets just start with my boss (a vet, I am a reg vet tech) who hates them with a passion.  In turn my mom has been a long time rawhide giver, since before I was born. I told her that they where not good for the dogs, but you know how it is some times. I have been doing it for such and such of a time and never had a problem....

Well we had a problem.  Gracie my 10 year old Jack Russell was really sick when I got home Monday night.  I gave her something called Sulcarfate to settle her stomach and some metacam for her pain and it seemed to help.  It had been a nice day and they had been outside a lot so I figured she had eaten something gross in the yard like usual and gave herself a rip roaring stomach ache.

Next morning she seemed okay, no vomiting overnight and she looked pretty perky and bright. I let her outside she went potty and I gave her another carafate just incase before I went to work.  Mom sends me a text that she had vomitted again, was drinking a lot of water and was sleeping alot.  This really was a concern as this was out of character for her.  At this point she had not metioned the rawhide, as I don't think in her mind she thought they where connected.