collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: can someone please explain taobao to me?  (Read 714 times)

Offline SeashellnBubbles

• Trade Count: (+170)
  • Rapunzel Pony
  • Tears are the last refuge of the damned
    • View Profile
can someone please explain taobao to me?
« on: February 16, 2013, 08:18:42 PM »
I'm fairly new to FiM and don't quite understand what Taobao is or what makes them special? The photos I've seen look a lot like what we have available here, so is there a difference in packaging? What is it about them that makes them desirable? Oh, and an example photo or 50 would be great, too! :)

Offline sd_dreamcrystal

• Trade Count: (+50)
  • MOC Mimic
  • Reach far beyond the boundaries of imagination.
    • View Profile
    • DreamCrystalArt @ DeviantART
Re: can someone please explain taobao to me?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2013, 08:23:35 PM »
Taobao is pretty much Chinese Ebay... Most of the ponies from there are prototypes and franken ponies
My DeviantArt, why not drop by and take a look!

Offline Diamond

• Hostess of the Wine Cellar
  • Trade Count: (+101)
  • Colombian Baby Pony
  • Time will tell a wonderful tale if you listen.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2013, 09:02:49 PM »
Taobao is pretty much Chinese Ebay... Most of the ponies from there are prototypes and franken ponies
The thing that gets to me, they are sold with no provenance.  They come with no COA (certificate of authenticity) which means they will down the road not hold there value.   I have seen some fun ponies in Brags but that worries me a great deal.
:like: me on FaceBook - Crocus Cottage Creations

Thanks to SdS for my avie

Offline SeashellnBubbles

• Rapunzel Pony
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2013, 09:07:44 PM »
So, are they real ponies, or are they a sort of knockoff? If they can produce them legally, but messing around with them, who makes the money off them?