collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Is there a difference between the vintage ponies & the retro/anniversary ponies?  (Read 654 times)

StarberryTart

• Trade Count: (0)
So I'm new to collecting G1 ponies and my major wants are some from the first wave of Rainbow Ponies, especially Skydancer and Starshine because I had those as a little girl and have wanted to replace them for years.

I noticed that there were these retro anniversary packs of some of the original ponies, including Starshine and Skydancer, that had been produced relatively recently.

However, I think the molds are different. Is it just me or are there actual differences? To me, it looks like the newer ones (retro/anniversary) have smaller eyes and longer, narrower faces/heads than their counterparts from the 80's.

Am I crazy? Or are these "differences" just because of camera angles?

I'm mostly curious because I want all of the ponies included in the anniversary wave, but I want the molds to look like the original ponies from the 80's. I like the look of the vintage ponies. If these ponies all look identical to their original versions, I would buy the new ones because they would be easier to find and in much better condition than most of the vintage ponies. However, if they have different head/body molds, then I'll stick with the vintage ponies, no matter how long it takes me to get them in really good condition...

Maybe someone has some comparison pictures of the vintage ponies next to the anniversary ones?

Offline SourdoughStomper

• *Arena VIP*
  • Trade Count: (+66)
  • MIB Licensing Show Pinkie Pie
  • grain free and pain free
    • View Profile
You are correct, the molds are different. The eyes are smaller. The feet are flat and I think they're smaller than the originals. (Not sure on that last). They don't seem to have the same quality. That said, they're not too bad as far as that goes.