collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Any blind bag customizing FAQs?  (Read 290 times)

Offline NinaMarie

• Classifieds
  • Trade Count: (+77)
  • Dabbles Pony
    • View Profile
    • NinaMarieCrochet - Cute & Floral Crochet Accessories
Any blind bag customizing FAQs?
« on: November 19, 2012, 04:02:12 PM »
My time is already consumed by my crocheting so as much as I feel the itch to try customzing ponies I know i don't have the time or money for it. However I thought maybe the little blind bag ponies wouldn't be too time consuming and would be a fun thing to do with my sister who will be home for christmas break. I wanted to do this project because my sister is an excellent painter and i thought between the two of us we could something awesome.
So since i'm new to all this I need some information.

Offline Sarahlacewing

• Mommy sparkle pony
  • Trade Count: (+87)
  • Rapunzel Pony
    • View Profile
Re: Any blind bag customizing FAQs?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 04:25:05 PM »
What information do you need and what gen?

As to G4s

It think most people use an exacto knife or other small very sharp blade to cut out the hair for custom sculpting mods.  I personally use a small jewelry size wire cutters.  Then I sand it down and sculpt.  It's easier if the pony has been boiled or otherwise heated a bit to make the plastic softer. 

Paint wise normal acrylics (I usually water them down.  Lots of thin coats, let dry completely before adding new coat) and sealant like for any other custom (I recommend a brush on rather than a spray application so you have more control and you can get a thin even coating).  100% Acetone to remove symbols and eyes. 

They don't take dye well, similar to the larger G4s. Well they take it very unevenly and often have a void around the seams no matter how many times you clean them. 

Few of mine...
visitors can't see pics , please register or login