collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Tips on freelance contracts?  (Read 486 times)

Offline Sonata

• Trade Count: (+11)
  • Dabbles Pony
    • View Profile
    • Shop
Tips on freelance contracts?
« on: October 20, 2012, 11:23:36 AM »
EDIT! By the way, I'm a freelance animator xD So yes, it's a complicated thing.

Any tips? I'm writting a contract now and I wanted to know how you guys work with the payment. Do you get some income upfront before starting? Do you get paid by stages as you complete the project?

I just wanted to know from your experiences what works and what doesn't :)

Thanks ! :D
« Last Edit: October 20, 2012, 12:45:35 PM by TheDarkWithin »

Offline MoonHawke

• Trade Count: (+25)
  • Dazzle Surprise
  • Gaming is Magic
    • View Profile
Re: Tips on freelance contracts?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 12:16:19 PM »
I have not done any ponies yet, but I have done commissions with my chainmaille jewelry.

When I get a commission, especially for something I don't normally work on like bags, I figure out the cost of supplies that I'm going to need for the project. I tend to use this as a base for how much I'm going to charge someone for the completed project (usually 2x the cost of supplies). I ask for half the cost upfront, to cover the cost of the supplies, and then the other half when I've completed the project. I find this works fairly well, so I'm not shelling out a bunch of money on supplies.

For ponies that I've commissioned, I've had one that asked for a retainer of $25 and one asked for the entire cost up front.

I think it depends on what you feel comfortable with, and what works best for you. If you're willing to make the effort to sell a commission to someone else if the buyer backs out, then go for a partial payment upfront. If you don't want to deal with the hassle, then ask for the entire cost.

Hope this helps!
Wishlist: Cherry Blossom :heart: Fairy Dust