collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Serious Constructive Criticism Please  (Read 693 times)

Offline Tulips

• Sweetie Pups Nut
  • Trade Count: (+65)
  • G3 Prototype Pony
  • Tiptoe Through The Tulips
    • View Profile
Serious Constructive Criticism Please
« on: September 29, 2012, 09:01:07 PM »
I'm in my final year of studying Fine Art at Art College and since ponies have invaded pretty much every aspect of my life I figured I may as well make a pony for my final work before Graduation... who could I do but Ditzy Doo?

She's currently unfinished but is looking pretty cute even if the proportions aren't exactly how I planned (human error lol sculpting is hard but fun!), I think the 'larger than actually intended head' still works, she's about 90cm tall and 85cm long. She was sculpted by hand out of chicken wire and took me 24hours and 10minutes to make so far so, I plan on melting plastic bags over her to give her a disturbing plastic appearance but I'm not 100% on this yet... I've explored a few other materials I could coat her with but I may even leave her bare. One of her eyes is attached just temporarily as a demo of what I plan to do with them, they will be hanging out of the sockets (long story short, I wanted her to just be monumental in size but people have come to expect more macabre works from me so I've been encouraged to do something more with her, hence her controversial eyes hanging out of her head).

The concept behind her isn't exactly decided yet. She's meant to represent the Brony phenomena (being the controversial fan favourite) but she could also convey issues such as:
  • Collector/Obsession
  • Relationship between Individual, Community & Corporate
  • Subcultural issues
  • Perception of worth (as an object and a character)
  • Contemporary Political Correctness
  • Gender Stereotypes