collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Cleaning ponies and water?  (Read 605 times)

Fortress

• Trade Count: (0)
Cleaning ponies and water?
« on: September 07, 2012, 11:45:46 AM »
Hey everyone! I've been cleaning some ponies today and I must add that I'm not very experienced when it comes to this. I've used a cleaning tutorial from YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NR1hW5h7M8&feature=plcp but I'm unsure about one thing. One of my ponies has a loose head and I took it off to see if there was any water inside the pony. She's not soaking wet on the inside but damp, like she's sweating. This is in the head and the area around her behind, the rest seems to be dry. Is this okay and will it dry? I don't want to take the heads off of all the other ponies to check and dry them. There's just too many of them and I really hate taking the heads off because it isn't always that simple when they won't budge. ^^; Tomorrow it should be sunny weather. Shall I put them outside so they can dry better or am I doomed to take off all of their heads?
I was hoping to sell these ponies, but I don't want anyone to receive a moldy pony. >_<

Offline lovesbabysquirmy

• Trade Count: (+60)
  • Colombian Baby Pony
  • ~never too old for ponies~
    • View Profile
Re: Cleaning ponies and water?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2012, 12:48:25 PM »
Don't leave them out in the sun unless you want faded ponies... that's a technique on how to remove stains, NOT a good general cleaning method.  Ponies don't need to be aired out. 

Also, it's a good idea to take the heads off the ponies to make sure they have no internal mold, mildew, or tail rust.  Watching that video made me shudder, as rinsing a pony under water whole like that creates prime conditions for tail rust and mold.  If the head gives you trouble, run near-boiling water over the neck seam and use a metal nail file to slowly pry the glue's seal open.