collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Wanting to make Sculpted Customs- Plenty 'o questions  (Read 289 times)

Rion

• Trade Count: (0)
Wanting to make Sculpted Customs- Plenty 'o questions
« on: July 17, 2012, 11:32:24 PM »
Alright, so I'm really wanting to try my hand at making sculpted customs. Like, really REALLY want to.

However, I have zero experience with actually making a custom pony, so I have some things that I really need to know before I attempt this.

First of all, I feel like I understand how to prep a bait pony, but one thing I haven't been able to find out is how exactly I get the head back on after the plug and such has been removed.

Second, what sort of materials will I need? I figured I'd use Super Sculpey for the clay, but everything else I'm rather lost on.

What kind of paint brushes should I use to pain the pony/clay?

What kind of paints should I use? I heard acrylic based paints are what you need, but again- I'm really not sure.

For details in the mold, would I need any sort of tools? Any reccomendations?

How exactly do I get the clay to hold onto the pony? Do you bake the clay whilst it's on the pony, or do you bake it seperately and seal it on the pony somehow?

How do you get the clay to fit inside/stay inside of the tail hole?

And lastly, do you go about doing the pony's paintjob before you start the sculpting? Or should you do it afterwards? Or does the order matter at all?

Sorry for alll the questions, I tried to Google and use the stiickied thread, but I couldn't seem to find the answers to all these myself... Maybe I didn't look good enough.

Thanks so much in advance for any help!

I'm really wanting to become good at making customs, but I have a long way to go; and learning is the very first step!

LizbethDawn

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Wanting to make Sculpted Customs- Plenty 'o questions
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 12:47:02 AM »