collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: My first attempt at a simple custom; need help with manes and tails  (Read 963 times)

h2g2guy

• Trade Count: (0)
Let me start off by saying this:  I'm relatively new to MLP, and I'm VERY new to customizing ponies.  I've read and watched so many tutorials online for making a custom pony, and decided to try my hand at it.  It didn't go very well, so I'm looking toward you all to hopefully give me some constructive criticism...and I know I need a lot of it! 

My goal was to make a more-or-less show accurate Rainbow Dash without needing to remane her.  Therefore, my test subject was a G4 Rainbow Dash.  Though I was trying to keep it simple by not painting her or remane-ing her, it turned out to be much more difficult than I expected!

The long version of the story:

Spoiler

After soaking her in a very hot bath, the head came off more or less easily.  I don't have the tools to remane her, so I decided to keep it simple for my first attempt.  I figured that I'd just cut and style the red, orange, and yellow parts to make her forelock (I guess that's what it's called?), cut a little of the green for her tail, and dye the rest of the green to make the rest of the colors for her mane.  The parts of the red, orange, and yellow that I cut off would go into the tail.  After cutting and styling, she looked GREAT, and there was much rejoicing. 

To get ready to work with the tail, I used a very pointy nail file to cut around almost the entirety of the neck plug.  I left the bit at the front of the neck glued on, as per some advice I had found on a YouTube video.