collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Making custom plushes for profit?  (Read 1138 times)

Karebearcntdwn

• Trade Count: (0)
Making custom plushes for profit?
« on: January 17, 2016, 05:26:38 PM »
I was searching on ebay and have found quite a few handmade mlp plushies. Some have sold for big bucks and others are pretty reasonably priced, but is it legal? My husband was debating with me on the matter saying they need to have hasbros consent to make currently trademarked items and sell them for a profit. I am no lawyer so I have no clue if he's right or not, but, with the amount of customs I have seen on varying sites he can't be right... could he? I mean that would be a lot of people to send C&D orders to. Lol Any thoughts on the matter? I would love to hear if anyone has come under fire by Hasbrouck or anyone you have purchased from. Thank you in advance.  ^.^
« Last Edit: January 18, 2016, 05:17:15 AM by Karebearcntdwn »

Offline Majesty

• Metal Gear Solid Pony
  • Trade Count: (+35)
  • G3 Prototype Pony
  • G1 and G3 Fan
    • View Profile
Re: Making custom pushes for profit?
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2016, 05:52:50 PM »
Not sure, but people here make customs of hasbro ponies, even if it's a G1 to G3 or to G4, etc. and I'm sure the customizers don't ask Hasbro for their permission.  I can see why you would wonder, it is an interesting question.  Hasbro lost the rights to a lot of ponies so I can't see them giving permission for something they don't own anymore.  I hope someone here can answer your question though. :)

Offline Baby Sugarberry

• Trade Count: (+8)
  • Mommy & Baby Pony
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2016, 06:11:54 PM »