collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: How do I NOT mess up my FBR?!  (Read 1603 times)

DancerKim82

• Trade Count: (0)
How do I NOT mess up my FBR?!
« on: March 22, 2012, 10:27:49 AM »
OK so you all know I am a newbie at customs, and only done 3 FBR...and all 3 times I have botched the paint job when I put hair in, tail but especially when I put the head back on!! What can I do to prevent this?? I do all my painting and seal with mod podge and/or polyurethane varnish beforehand, but when i try and touch up, it looks shoddy... :mad:  because theres so many layers of the original.

On Calypso Glow, my most recent, I wanted to cry! OK, so shes not amazing, but I still spent a total of about 18 + hours on her!! Not to mention money spent. And her tail hole is horrible, and the neck is even worse!!  :cry:

Thanks everyone, I look to sooo many of you amazing artists for inspiration, and advice! You all do such incredible work!

~Kim

Offline Colorscapesart

• "BE COOL!"
  • Trade Count: (+204)
  • MIB Licensing Show Pinkie Pie
  • Fakie!
    • View Profile
    • Custom Ponies
Re: How do I NOT mess up my FBR?!
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 10:36:30 AM »
Do you have any clear pics of the damage?  Is it cracking and/or chipping?  There are a few things that might help:
~You smaller plugs of hair and open each plugs gently with a push pin before rerooting. 
~Carefully cut larger tail holes or use less hair in your tail
~You can gently sand damaged areas with a VERY fine grit of sandpaper to help smooth them out
~Some one had a pic here recently.....you can cut notches into the pony's neckplug (little upside-down V shapes), that enable the head to come off and on more easily. 

DancerKim82

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 11:00:58 AM »