collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Need recommendations for a good colored pencil sharpener  (Read 3220 times)

Offline ZeldaTheSwordsman

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • Mommy & Baby Pony
  • "Death to Eclipse" protests DA's dumb new UI
    • View Profile
Need recommendations for a good colored pencil sharpener
« on: November 02, 2020, 11:33:10 PM »
I'm primarily a traditional artist - I draw with pencil, ink with a felt-tip pen, and color with colored pencils (previously I favored crayons, but colored pencils blend better and at their best have better control).

However, a frequent frustration of mine is inconsistent results when sharpening. Sometimes they'll sharpen fine with no hassle, but at other times problems like the pencil randomly snagging on the blade and/or the pencil being sharpened but the forces involved breaking the newly-sharpened tip loose from the core. Even when I'm being gentle...
It's annoying, especially with the inconsistency, and it artificially shortens the working life of the pencils.
I suspect the sharpener is the main culprit - it's just a basic 2-bore sharpener, and a plastic-bodied one at that.

So can anyone please recommend a good sharpener to me?
should be perma-moderated

Offline banditpony

• マイリトルポニー
  • Trade Count: (+131)
  • MIB Rapunzel Pony
  • ♥ タカラ ♥
    • View Profile
Re: Need recommendations for a good colored pencil sharpener
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2020, 04:48:30 AM »
I buy my calligraphy supplies from this site, and everything is really nice quality.

I would trust the ratings from getting something from here, plus they a very detailed review page..
https://www.jetpens.com/blog/the-best-pencil-sharpeners/pt/710

ETA: I'm not saying you need to buy from that site. :) It's just a really good resource.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2020, 06:28:06 AM by banditpony »
visitors can't see pics , please register or login