collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Can you bake McDonald's ponies?  (Read 1307 times)

Offline MintyMyndi

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • Colorswirl Pony
    • View Profile
Can you bake McDonald's ponies?
« on: October 27, 2020, 03:30:22 PM »
Hello! I'm a beginner customizer and I have a question. My only completed custom is an alternate rehair (whom I may post about later), but I've already got a bunch of ambitious ideas buzzing around in my head like angry bees, so I guess I should entertain some of them!

My favorite art style is G3.5's, but the toys don't do it enough justice (they look fine, just not fully accurate). My attention has fallen onto the McDonald's ponies due to their abundance and pose variety. I chopped the molded tail off of a Cheerilee who was quite faded and had a haircut. I then realized this was easier said than done... Sanding helped, but there was some scarring.

My plan was to smooth a thin layer of clay over her crotch and back legs to remove the scars and fill her hollowed-out feet with it. I tried a baking soda/cornstarch dough that you can make in the microwave, but it's too stiff and brittle and didn't stick very well. The pieces in her feet just fell out, and the leg pieces flaked off while drying. Sculpey might have the texture and adhesion I need, but would she survive the oven?

Has anybody baked a G3 or G3.5 McDonald's pony? They're basically the same. If you don't think she'll make it, I could boil the clay. I opened up a Butterscotch from the 2005 set and she was full of mold, so I drowned her in a microwave-safe dish and nuked the pony soup for like... ten minutes? I don't remember, but she survived unharmed! How would I go about the boiling process if it's what I'll have to do?