collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Restoring scents on scented ponies?  (Read 639 times)

Offline paradiserain

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Drink 'n' Wet Pony
  • Unhealthily addicted to G3s
    • View Profile
Restoring scents on scented ponies?
« on: September 03, 2021, 06:23:34 AM »
Hey there!

Newbie to MLP Arena here, but I've been collecting since ~2005.

So this past year I've collected quite a few G3s that used to be scented, but due to age and years of playtime from the previous owners, the ponies have lost their scents.

The scented ponies I've got so far are;

Lavender Lake
Citrus Sweetheart (very very very faint smell of oranges)
Apple Spice
Pretty Pop
Party Cake
Chocolate Chipper
Coconut Grove (still faintly smells of coconut, but needs restoring)
Tropical Surprise (2005 version)

All except two of those ponies have no smell at all other than the normal sweet G3 plastic smell. I've thought about finding some good-quality sample bottles of essential oils that would match their original gimmick scent and just put a little drop or two on their cutie marks, and then leave them sealed in a plastic bag for a few days.

My concern is that I don't know if the oils would stain the ponies or not. I've used tea tree oil on a few of them to rub out stubborn pen marks and such and it has worked very well for me and hasn't left any stains on the ponies.

So I guess I'm just looking for some tips? Advice? Do any of y'all have any ideas as to what would be the best way of doing this? Or would I just be better off leaving them as they are?

Thanks for reading. :art: