collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Marking Restored G1s  (Read 1675 times)

Offline d13tp3ps1

• Trade Count: (+9)
  • Sweet Kisses Pony
    • View Profile
    • My store!
Marking Restored G1s
« on: April 03, 2012, 07:29:38 AM »
Hey guys! I'm pretty new to collecting/customizing, and just recently I've wanted to try my hand at restoring borderline-baity G1s. Is there a generally accepted way to mark them as restored, so that if I ever have to sell my collection there won't be any confusion?

Thank you!
Brain Basket on Etsy-I sell customs, vintage toys, and handmade accessories! Check me out!

:biggrin: I have two commission slots open!

Offline rybett

• Mintylicious Midwest Pony
  • Trade Count: (+33)
  • MOC Mimic
    • View Profile
Re: Marking Restored G1s
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2012, 07:35:49 AM »
Hmm, I tend to put a "J" on a leg where the heart symbol usually is when I do g3s.  Might do that under a foot for G1, but so far all I have done with them is a bit of symbol touch up or glitter touch up. 
:socks:   :frog:

Offline kCherry

• *Arena VIP*
  • Trade Count: (+244)
  • Rapunzel Pony
  • *-* Smart Doll Obsessed *-*
    • View Profile
    • Studio 7th Sanctuary is now on Facebook
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2012, 07:44:12 AM »
Yes, it is standard practice to mark restored originals. :) My rule of thumb is if I am taking things away (excess paint, dirt, stains, ect..) and adding nothing I do not mark them; if I am restoring symbols and eyes or plugs, with paint or hair then I am adding to the pony and will mark it.
  I usually just put "S7S", my studio signature, and "Resto" underneath it. I've also seen some people just simply put "R" under a pony's hoof and that's fine, too.

Hope that helps!! :)
« Last Edit: April 03, 2012, 07:47:45 AM by kCherry »
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

My Etsy shop O Ponies *** My Youtube Channel

Offline ponylady

• Trade Count: (+34)