collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Advice about selling at a convention  (Read 517 times)

Offline kadajkitten

• Trade Count: (+12)
  • Brush N Grow Pony
    • View Profile
Advice about selling at a convention
« on: October 27, 2012, 04:16:06 PM »
So I was planning on renting an artist table at phoenix comicon which is $250 and since I'm about 2 hours away I need a hotel and at least 2 tanks of gas and I have no experience selling things at a convention I've only gone as an attendee, I was planning on selling art prints of ponies and maybe anime characters, and maybe custom ponies and custom blind bag ponies, do you think these will sell well or should I add some other things to my selling list? I want to make at least $200 back and I'm really artistic, but I can't think of what else to sell, any advice?

Offline octocorn

• Trade Count: (+14)
  • Lil Cupcake Sister Pony
  • Don't dream it, be it.
    • View Profile
Re: Advice about selling at a convention
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2012, 05:12:50 PM »
I know as a con attendee I like small prints as well as 11x17 prints just because I'm getting a pile of large prints with no room on the wall! There's a guy I keep seeing at cons that does a 5x5 art print, I think they're like 7 each or 4 for 20? I love love LOVE this size.  A lot of people are doing blindbag keychains, but I know I'd pay quite a bit more for a custom blindbag keychain, I think that would be awesome! 

I've seen a lot of people do shrinky dink earrings and resin bottlecap jewelry/hairbows and those seem to sell incredibly well at conventions too.

Good luck with your sales!

Offline banditpony

• マイリトルポニー
  • Trade Count: (+131)
  • MIB Rapunzel Pony
  • ♥ タカラ ♥
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2012, 07:00:47 PM »
I think pins sell really well... pins and buttons.
My friend has a pin business and she does amazing.

and... commissions.