collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Does anyone have a sewing machine?  (Read 567 times)

Offline Tilas

• Arena Supporter
  • Trade Count: (+76)
  • MOC Mimic
    • View Profile
    • Shilo.ca
Does anyone have a sewing machine?
« on: December 14, 2012, 12:17:37 PM »
If you do, could you tell me about it? Like the brand, price, and size of the machine?

I've been talking with dad about getting a sewing machine, and maybe trying my hand at plushie making. He's thrilled at the idea I want to sew, as he is an Upholsterer by trade, so wanting to learn part of his business makes him happy lol. However, (as in his nature as a tradesman) he's looking into industrial sized into the thousands of dollars type machines.  I... don't know if I want to go quite that far just yet. ^^; I don't want to spend a ton of money if it's something I find I just can't get into or do.  He's not bought a machine in uh.... I think before I was born... (he hasn't needed to, his Phaff machine is still working as well today as the day he bought it- which is why he's sort of insistent ON a Pfaff), so he doesn't know much about the "new" machines with "all their computerized nonsense" ^^; 

But then, I don't want to get a cheap trinket either, because that would probably just frustrate me and turn me off of wanting to use it.  I don't need to worry about material or stuffing, as since dad has been a buyer form J. Ennis Fabrics for as long as he's been in business, I can get access to any material wholesale.  I'd try and learn on his machine, but, being an industrial, it would eat any thinner material, since it's made for things like furniture, boats, and heavy equipment. ^^;  I could make a pony in Naugahyde, but dang, that's be one crazy looking pony LOL.