collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Cost effective shipping methods and First Class vs Parcel Post?  (Read 4107 times)

Offline mshesha

• Trade Count: (+41)
  • Brush N Grow Pony
  • G1 convert
    • View Profile
Hello, I just started trading and realized minimizing shipping cost is a must. I've  received some cool packages lately like inside out boxes, paper bag mailers, customized priority mail boxes... what other tricks do you all know about and would like to share?  Or where do you get your supplies from?
« Last Edit: April 03, 2012, 05:58:51 PM by mshesha »

Offline babystarz

• Trade Count: (+37)
  • Lil Cupcake Sister Pony
    • View Profile
Re: Cost effective shipping methods
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 07:16:32 PM »
Most bubble wrap sheets are easily recycled, just remove any existing tape :) I always re-use bubblewrap as long as it's not ripped.

I'm really conscious of the carbon footprint created by my buying/selling so I recycle almost everything. Boxes that are too beaten up to be reused go in the recycling to be picked up; boxes that can be re-used get reinforced with tape around the middle. And you can re-use priority boxes as long as the "priority" label is covered up (either by turning the box inside-out or just putting paper over them) if you want to ship non-priority. And you can get priority boxes for free from the post office in large quantities :)

I always save styrofoam packing peanuts I receive too, I keep them in a huge cardboard box and stuff them in packages I send as needed.  I've also noticed that I get tons of plastic bags in buying, so I save them and use them when I ship ponies too.

So far I haven't spent any money on boxes, packing peanuts, bubble wrap, or styrofoam. I shift the savings to buying tissue paper and pony stickers, because people really enjoy that personal touch.
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Offline mshesha