collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Help - question about deflocked ponies  (Read 480 times)

oddish

• Trade Count: (0)
Help - question about deflocked ponies
« on: April 04, 2012, 08:23:21 AM »

I've been working on deflocking my childhood North Star and Hippity Hop. This is my first attempt at deflocking. Over the past few weeks they got two boiling Oxyclean baths, rubbed down with rubbing alcohol (91% isopropyl), and I just soaked them again in plain hot water.

My problem is that they still look and feel kind of "gummy". Not sticky or anything, they just have an uneven shininess and you can see where my fingernail scraped them getting the flocking and glue off and they seem to have a weird texture. Only word I can think of to describe it is "gummy".

Is this normal for deflocked ponies? Or did I do something wrong? At first I thought it was glue residue or that I didn't rinse them well enough, but it didn't go away even after cleaning and rinsing them again just now. Could I have damaged the plastic with the alcohol? I did use a lot of it all over their bodies.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Offline hathorcat

• All About Accessories
  • Trade Count: (+221)
  • Penguin Goddess Minion
  • Loa's little succulent
    • View Profile
Re: Help - question about deflocked ponies
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2012, 08:30:17 AM »
It does sound as though you have residual glue left on them...sometimes it takes a lot of time, a lot of patience, a lot of elbow grease and some seriously hard core chemicals to get that glue off...

In the past I think I have everything off...I leave them to sit, I come back and some parts of them feel kind of "tacky/sticky" to the touch...and its just that remaining persistent layer of glue...you may need to use something stronger than rubbing alcohol.
Thank you Matcha for my gorgeous Baby Fifi avi :hug:
Loa is my love god!
I love Loa more than PonyLady!