collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Heya!  (Read 466 times)

AfroThunder

• Trade Count: (0)
Heya!
« on: April 06, 2015, 11:49:51 PM »
Hi all! 

First off, thank you for allowing me to join.  This looks like a pretty fun place to hang out!

I go by the handle AfroThunder (Ms. Jackson if you're nasty…major props to those who get that reference).  I'm a big fan of the MLP:FIM series, but being an 80s kid I have a few of the classic MLP Gen 1 ponies that were bought for me (they ended up being the magical mounts for my He-Man figures).  I still have them to this day, kept safely with my collection of favorite toys that I just couldn't bear to part with.

A little about myself--I'm an illustrator with a die-hard love for cartoons and animation.  I've been drawing since I was old enough to hold a crayon and, according to my mother, my first sketchbook was a first-print copy of the original Where the Wild Things Are (at three years old I tried to draw the monsters in the story on the actual pages, lol). 

How does this relate to ponies, you may ask? 

Well, for about two years I was in an artistic slump.  I'd been sick with an ongoing stomach problem that took a lot of energy out of me--physical, emotional and spiritual.  Through this I'd also been doing art for things I had no passion for--corporate logos, boring freelance work--and was losing the joy that I once had.  Then one day on a forum I belonged to, I saw a cute, colorful pony character as someone's avatar.  Then another.  And another.  And they began popping on other forums I belonged to.  After finding out that the characters were from the new MLP series, I scratched my head and wondered why the heck was that show so popular that people were changing their long-established faces of the internet-verse into pastel equines?