collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Styles and methods for re-rooting hair & different plug arrangements?  (Read 5700 times)

PrincessKnight

• Trade Count: (0)
Hi customizers! I'm new to pony customizing, and have been having a great time pulling (g4) ponies apart and repainting them. Apart from reading a few tutorials about rerooting ponies, I'm pretty clueless about it, so it'd be awesome if you can tell me what methods work best for you, what doesn't work so well, etc. :) All I've done so far is put new tails in, and I know that's the easy part :P

Particularly though, I'd like to know what other re-rooting 'styles' you can use (standard ponies have the two parallel lines of hair, other have forelocks, etc). The standard Hasbro hair looks a little bit thin/plain, imo, so I'd like to do something a little different for my customs.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2012, 11:37:03 PM by PrincessKnight »

MrsDavis

Re: Styles and methods for re-rooting hair?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2012, 08:03:57 PM »
I was curious about this, too. How do you add new holes for the plugs, a larger gauge needle or push pin maybe? And what kind of arrangements work best? Does that make sense?

PrincessKnight

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2012, 08:17:51 PM »
Yes, yes! Arrangements! Plug arrangements. Thats a better word for it. I was having problems trying to describe what I was looking for.

I've done a teeny bit of testing, and pushpins ought to work, I think. The holes seem to 'close up' a lot more than the pre-existing ones, but I imagine thats because I didn't put the hair in them.

Offline True

• Eartha Uncorn
  • Trade Count: (+98)
  • MOC Mimic
  • Unicorn of the earth
    • View Profile
    • Truly Customs
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2012, 08:31:36 PM »