collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Custom newbie Q's  (Read 1916 times)

Offline StrawberryMeadow

• Trade Count: (+20)
  • Lil Sweetcake Sister Pony
  • 'Scuse me, just here to steal all your TE's. Ta
    • View Profile
    • DA
Custom newbie Q's
« on: February 02, 2012, 08:53:56 AM »
Harro everypony!

Just a newbie here starting my first customs. A couple of simple questions I haven't been able to find answers for (probably because I'm useless at looking...)

Firstly: How on earth do I get the last few plugs out of a g3 Head? The ones at the base of the neck. I can just about rip them from the outside but with my forceps I simply can't get in close enough... do I need to chop off the neck ring?

Second Q - how do you re-hair a tail? With the G3's do I re-use the plastic bits I took out, or is it best to just glue it in? And with G1's? (Had a baity tootsie with tail rust which got removed...)

Thirdly, does anyone use Milliput for sculpting? I have used it on other makes and was wondering if anyone uses it on pony customs? Everyone seems to use apoxie, and I was wondering if I am doing the wrong thing with Milliput.

Lastly, do I need to seal my paint (acrylic), and if so can I use Scupley glaze?

Thanks for your time!

lilacamy931

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Custom newbie Q's
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2012, 08:58:22 AM »
Hello I am fairly new and hope to help though.

With the hair plugs get inventive, I pop the head in hot water, get a screwdriver and wiggle around to loosen them out and then forceps them out, the neck ones are tricky but practise makes perfect.

Tail, have a look in the tutorials, do you have snap ties as these are the easiest ways to make your own tail ends (will look for tutorial one mo)