collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: New to Customizing  (Read 1717 times)

MrsDavis

• Trade Count: (0)
New to Customizing
« on: March 09, 2012, 06:40:09 PM »
Hello, everybody!

I'm brand new to the customizing scene and am SOOOO excited to get started! I've been checking out the tutorials and helpful links around the arena, but if any of you have any helpful hints, I'd love to have a mentor of sorts. :)

I'm sure I'll be hanging around this board quite a bit, and I hope to get to know all of you awesome artists.  :wave:

Offline Tiella

• Trade Count: (+118)
  • Spain Piggy Pony
  • Professional Multi-Tasker
    • View Profile
    • Deviant Art Page
Re: New to Customizing
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2012, 06:47:57 PM »
Just keep having a look around, you will be surprised the helpful information you can find poking about. We have had quite a few WIP threads lately and advice threads. Some things I would note to a new artist are:

1. Use very small brushes
2. Water down your paint for full body repaints and symbol work for a nice flat texture with no brushstrokes
3. Have patience, things don't always work the way you want them to the first time, but you learn each time
4. Don't be afraid to ask questions or send a pm to a customizer if you want to ask them something specific, a lot of the vert customizers helped me get my foot in the door and I have been doing this less than a year now.

Offline PinkRosedust

• Trade Count: (+117)
  • Dabbles Pony
  • How bout i do anyway?
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2012, 09:52:33 PM »