collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Paint questions from a total customizing newbie  (Read 662 times)

Offline horseytown

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Fancy Pants Baby
    • View Profile
Paint questions from a total customizing newbie
« on: February 21, 2022, 01:43:24 PM »
Hey there! I've been really interested in customizing G1s for a while, but I don't actually have any experience doing it yet. I was wondering what techniques people use to get their symbols and eyes looking as clean, flat, and accurate to the originals as possible? I'm an artist and I've worked with acrylic paints many times before, but I've never used it on a toy. Acrylic has a tendency to be rather clumpy and dries with an unpleasant texture, and I don't want my customs to feel like that! Do you use Liquitex, pouring medium, paint thinners, sealers? Give me your secrets!!
🌼 I love all these little horses! 🌼🌼 follow me on deviantart @horseytown! 🌼

Offline BlackCurtains

• Mad Scientist
  • Trade Count: (+69)
  • MIB Licensing Show Pinkie Pie
  • Orange ponies are the best.
    • View Profile
    • BlackCurtains Crafts
Re: Paint questions from a total customizing newbie
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2022, 02:06:58 PM »
The trick is to water down the paint to the consistency of whole milk, where it will just cling to the brush but still drip off. Use lots of layers. Use teeny tiny brushes for symbols and especially eyes. Eyes are very hard for newbies and experts alike. You can brace your elbow on a surface, put your free fingers on the pony and hold your breath as you paint the lines for the eyes. It takes practice. Some people have good luck with full body repaints using make-up sponges. Others invest in an airbrush. But you can create nice smooth full bodies with a brush too.