collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Playing with Nirvana's  (Read 1010 times)

Offline Marjaana

• Trade Count: (0)
  • McDonald's Pony
    • View Profile
Playing with Nirvana's
« on: January 12, 2020, 01:28:20 AM »
Hi,

I have a dilemma. I'm not a proper collector, ie. don't display my ponies in a shelf or anything like that. Also not planning on going that route.

My kids are small and have enjoyed playing with their Retro MLP's and Hong Kong versions. I have a few Nirvana's that are a bit more valuable that I'm keeping safe in a box so high up that the kids can't reach them. But then it feels daft to have those beautiful ponies hiding away without any use.

Is anyone else struggling with this? I feel like I'd like to let the kids play with them but then would worry about them becoming dirty and broken.

Offline LadyMoondancer

• *Arena VIP*
  • Trade Count: (+96)
  • MIB Licensing Show Pinkie Pie
    • View Profile
    • http://www.superpony.com
Re: Playing with Nirvana's
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2020, 12:26:07 PM »
Everyone is different on things like this, I think.  Personally I wouldn't have any trouble keeping expensive ponies away from kids.  If you do give them to the kids then yeah, you are risking the ponies getting dirty or broken.  My personal feeling is only do it if you know you won't get mad at the kids if it happens.  Kids do not have good impulse control or foresight, that's just how it goes.

Also, there are a lot of the international manufacture ponies that I wouldn't trust around kids because I don't trust the safety standards of the companies they're from. 

Like Italian ponies--probably okay.  Brazilian or Argentinean ponies--they just seem very shoddily constructed and I wouldn't trust that they hadn't used lead paint or something else dangerous.  There's no way Hasbro could have personally had oversight of those local factories in the 80s.