Pony Talk > Off Topic

Do you bird?

<< < (10/12) > >>

CherryTreats:
I love seeing birds! I have a bird book that has the songs of many birds and I love it! It has helped me identify various birds just by their songs, like the Western Scrub Jay. I hear that one a lot. One of my favorites to see is the Steller's Jay.

CharmingBirthday:
Yeah!! I'm pretty new to it as a hobby, but I like reading Birdlife and watching local birds.

My partners mum is super into birding, and all field naturalist kind of stuff. She's a horticulturalist specializing in natives (I'm Australian) so the garden is designed to attract birds. They also live right next to a re-vegetation zone with a lake so its easy to not only see parrots but waterbirds. I'm starting to learn about the migratory birds.

Around the house here we get heaps of grass parrots (Psephotus haematonotus), corellas, galahs, eastern rosellas, mudlarks, blue faced honey eaters, wattlebirds, noisy friar birds, white-winged choughs (Corcorax melanorhamphos) and of course magpies. Nearby you can find spotted pardalotes, butcherbirds, kookaburras, welcome swallows, blue wrens, the beautiful and shy bronzewing pidgeons (Phaps chalcoptera)...

Visiting the lake recently are pelicans, little and greater egrets, chestnut teal (Anas castanea), cormorants, darters, freckled ducks (Stictonetta naevosa)

I've been out to some hotspots with them to watch for the birds that don't like disturbed areas too. I've seen some white browed babblers, shrikes, red capped robins, gang-gang cockatoos! And lots of little ones I can't remember the names of.

We have beautiful birds of prey too. You often see wedge tailed eagles flying around, and square tailed kites. There are a few hawks, kites and little falcons in Victoria.