collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Horse drawing tutorials/tips?  (Read 1683 times)

Offline Lady Frostbite

• Trade Count: (+4)
  • Bay Breeze Pony
  • Absolutely Abbeylicious!
    • View Profile
Horse drawing tutorials/tips?
« on: June 10, 2019, 03:28:06 PM »
I have an image I am burning to draw, but I have zero experience in drawing horses. I find their faces, especially at odd or unusual angles, hard to capture!

Anyone got any tips for drawing realistic or semi-realistic (i.e. simplified) horses? Unusual angles like rearing, throwing back the head, viewing 1/4 from the back, any body angles apart from side angles would be appreciated! Any tutorials? Secret hacks? (Especially for nostrils, they look so odd wheb I draw them!
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Signature image artwork done by the talented Starscout!
MLP Gameloft game friend code : 29c831

Offline Mewtwofan1

• Trade Count: (+11)
  • Sweet Scoops Pony w/Charm
  • Currently stumbling through somewhere. Send help.
    • View Profile
Re: Horse drawing tutorials/tips?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2019, 09:37:56 PM »
I found trying to draw horses/equines a difficult task when starting out. It still causes me some level of grief when it doesn’t look quite right, but it is much better compared to my start. I don’t have the drawings on me at the moment, but I can probably walk your through some of them. For now, try breaking it up into simple shapes. I find heads a lot easier when I break it into a large circle and a smaller one for the muzzle.
In short, try breaking a reference image of what you want apart, and try to replicate. Horses are difficult, but practice does make purpose.
This. Sentence. Is. False! Dontthinkaboutitdontthinkaboutit.

Offline mlptfan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Captain Jack Pony
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/mlptfan
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2019, 11:08:30 PM »