collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: A year of customs and what I have learned  (Read 1892 times)

Offline Pony.Backpack

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Captain Jack Pony
    • View Profile
    • Instagram
A year of customs and what I have learned
« on: January 02, 2019, 12:46:12 PM »
Hello all! I am relatively new to the wonderful world of customs as I completed my first ever custom in February of last year (11 months ago.) Despite being so green, I have seen a lot of improvement in my work over the past year and thought I would share my journey and what I learned in 2018 ♥

visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Everyone, meet Lemon Drop. Not only is this the pony that sparked my passion for customizing, but the pony that started my whole obsession. I had ponies growing up but left them behind and never really thought about them until I found this girl at a local thrift store and honestly, it all just snowballed from there.
I've included a close up of her eye - you know what I used to paint it? A Starbucks "personalize your cup" pen and nail polish. I also used polish for her mark but honestly it's so small it's basically not even there. The materials may have been wonky but hey, we adapt when we don't have the "proper" tools. There is no right or wrong way to customize, just your way and other people's ways.

What Lemon Drop taught me about customizing: Have fun and be bold. I adored Lemon Drop the day that I made her (and still to this day) but you'll notice that never again did I paint such a small, shy mark/symbol or such "in the line" eyes. Give your work personality, don't be afraid to be a bit wild.