collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Are old sawdust filled toys fine to collect?  (Read 1215 times)

Offline DappledHazel

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Brush N Grow Pony
    • View Profile
Are old sawdust filled toys fine to collect?
« on: February 27, 2018, 11:42:45 AM »
I'm quite new to collecting old stuffed animals and I was wondering about 60's sawdust filled stuffed animals, are these generally fine, if not is there a way to tell?
I found some really cute ones on eBay but when I mentioned it to a friend they said something about them probably being infested with mites and other bugs that could live off sawdust.
I apologize if this is a silly question but after hearing about possible bugs I'd like to know if this is something likely to occur or not?

The only thing I've really ever collected was ponies and other plastic stuff that can be easily taken apart and cleaned, but old stuffed animals not so much.

[moving to toy box ~ Kiwi]
« Last Edit: February 27, 2018, 06:19:25 PM by Kiwi »

Offline Khoufu

• Trade Count: (+22)
  • Scribbles Pony
  • Waterfire is best pony. \\//,
    • View Profile
Re: Are old sawdust filled toys fine to collect?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2018, 12:11:14 PM »
Personally I'd avoid buying those online unless it's from a collector community. If they get damp, it can be the end of the line for them. I had to toss out a sawdust filled Smurf plush cuz it started reeking of mold from the inside.
:enraged:   PM for a link to my Retro MLP group on Telegram!   
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Offline DappledHazel

• Brush N Grow Pony
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2018, 01:41:31 PM »
Personally I'd avoid buying those online unless it's from a collector community. If they get damp, it can be the end of the line for them. I had to toss out a sawdust filled Smurf plush cuz it started reeking of mold from the inside.