collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Adhesive vinyl stencils for airbrushing?  (Read 526 times)

daystar217

• Trade Count: (0)
Adhesive vinyl stencils for airbrushing?
« on: August 01, 2017, 02:15:56 PM »
I've seen this discussed a few years ago but I was wondering if anyone has used this technique more recently.

You know those really expensive paper cutting machines like Cameo or Cricut? It's like a printer but instead of printing ink it has a blade that cuts the material (fabric, paper, adhesive vinyl, etc.) I never knew about them until my mother in law upgraded hers and gave me the old one.

So I have this fancy machine now, I was thinking of buying some adhesive vinyl sheets and cutting cutie mark stencils to airbrush customs. I'm not very good at freehand painting and sine they're G1 I would want them the same on both sides, which is really hard for me without a stencil. but using stencils on round things isn't very easy, so maybe if it was stuck down it would work better?
I've seen some customs that look factory made, the mark was so uniform and even, like it was stamped on. Like this baby Locket.  https://www.etsy.com/listing/255678337/baby-locket-twinkle-eye-custom-g1-my
(ShadowontheMoon, if you're reading this, I heart this custom.)
 THAT'S what I'm going for, the factory-made look. Haha, high aspirations for a beginner, I know. I've gotten pretty good at rehairing but the painting thing is a whole new ball of....acrylic.

Experience? Advice? My husband has been painting miniatures for 20 years so I have all the tools (airbrushes, paints, brushes, gloss,) but I didn't want to spring for the $20 adhesive vinyl sheets without asking first. How do the pros airbrush customs?

Offline Uninu

• Glows and sparkles in the dark
  • Trade Count: (+80)
  • MOC Mimic
    • View Profile
Re: Adhesive vinyl stencils for airbrushing?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2017, 02:54:25 AM »