collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Anyone out there a dual citizen of USA/Canada?  (Read 978 times)

Offline mellowhen

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • Ouchy Roids Pony
    • View Profile
Anyone out there a dual citizen of USA/Canada?
« on: May 24, 2017, 01:34:41 PM »
Might be a weird place to ask, but it seems like we have a lot of diversity here and I'd give it a shot :)

Is anyone here a dual citizen of the USA/Canada, or someone who lived in the US at one point and became a naturalized Canadian?

I recently visited Vancouver to be with my boyfriend and discovered that I absolutely LOVE it there- the climate, the mountains, the culture, everything- and I'm wanting to move there. Through all the research I've done I've determined that it's a lot more complex than it seems to move if you're just an average joe and not a health care professional or other in demand worker- I'm just an artist, and while there is a huge industry for video games and animation there it won't be easy to get a job offer.

I suppose my question is, if anyone has successfully moved- how did you go about it? Did it take a lot of back and forth from home to your destination, and did you choose to have a Canadian lawyer present your immigration case or do it all yourself?

Any insight or stories would be very helpful!

Offline lovesbabysquirmy

• Trade Count: (+60)
  • Colombian Baby Pony
  • ~never too old for ponies~
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone out there a dual citizen of USA/Canada?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2017, 05:39:10 PM »
*waves* Hi!  I have been dual Canada/USA for 2 years now!  Born in USA, immigrated to Canada 9 years ago.  The whole process took 7 years, as you can see.  It took 2.5 years for Permanent Residency and after that the rest of the time was acquiring residency and applying for citizenship.