collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: New to BJD collecting - anyone have tips or advice?  (Read 1671 times)

Offline Pheasant

• She's a daydreamer
  • Classifieds
  • Trade Count: (+32)
  • Mommy & Baby Pony
    • View Profile
New to BJD collecting - anyone have tips or advice?
« on: January 27, 2016, 02:04:55 PM »
I'd like to start collecting a few BJDs, but I literally have no idea how to start! I've been collecting Barbies and American Girl dolls for several years, but BJDs are unexplored territory and I'm looking for some guidance.

• What dolls do you recommend for a new collector?
• What brands are considered high quality? What brands should I avoid?
• How do I avoid re-casts?
• Are there any price-check guides out there?
Mimic on MLPTP

Offline Aliyahbetd

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Mighty Morphin Power Pony
    • View Profile
Re: New to BJD collecting - anyone have tips or advice?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2016, 03:10:23 PM »
If you don't already have a specific size in mind, I would hit up a doll meet if you can, so you can see what's out there.

The DenofAngels wiki has a list of Dollmakers as well as a list of Bjd's under $300 organized by size (you don't have to be a member to browse the wiki).  Just off the top of my head some popular brands are Fairyland, Volks, Iplehouse, Dollzone, Luts, Soom, Resinsoul and Lati, there are lots of cool companies

It's hard to recommend a specific doll line or company, there are so many, and it's all about personal preference! Pick a doll you love!

For avoiding recasts, I would steer clear of Ebay. Though there are some legit dealers on there (jeeryama is a good one), there are also a bunch of recasts. Going directly though the company is always an option, as well as using a dealer like Alice Collections, Denverdoll, Mintoncard etc...
Wishlist:
My Kingdom for Cranberry Muffins! :lovey:...
http://mlparena.com/index.php/topic,379105.0.html