collapse

* Navigation

* User Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

* Who's Online

Author Topic: Job market is really that tough?  (Read 12228 times)

Offline Sonata

• Trade Count: (+11)
  • Dabbles Pony
    • View Profile
    • Shop
Re: Job market is really that tough?
« Reply #30 on: January 26, 2012, 01:57:53 AM »
I really just want freelance opportunities, but a part-time job at pretty much ANYTHING would be great... So far, nothing at all... :<

Offline Rainbowjuice

• Trade Count: (+20)
  • Dabbles Pony
  • /)*brohoof*(\
    • View Profile
« Reply #31 on: January 26, 2012, 03:31:18 AM »
I'm a trained teacher. Working in McDonalds.
What is my life?

Stupid job market. *le sigh*
Wanted: G1 Minty & G1 Bowtie
visitors can't see pics , please register or login

Huge thanks to Ivy for my sig ♥♥

Offline Malancaiwen

• Celtic pony
  • Trade Count: (+28)
  • Colorswirl Pony
    • View Profile
« Reply #32 on: January 26, 2012, 06:24:44 AM »
When in France, despite talking 4 languages (french, english, spanish and chinese) all I got was a front desk position in a company that turned me down at first (big thank you to the guy who interviewed me and insisted that they meet me!)...

All I could do was move far away, arrive in China again and be a teacher. Salary is really not bad and kids are great, I'm just feeling sad that my parents still think I'm just "fooling around". Hey, at least I'll have a stable job!

Offline Ginger

• Trade Count: (+14)
  • Bay Breeze Pony
  • TE Bright Eyes Fanatic
    • View Profile
    • Tumblr
« Reply #33 on: January 26, 2012, 07:10:38 AM »
Wow.. how disheartening. I don't understand why employers discard the older and more experienced?! My first workplace hires a lot of 14-17 year olds but a couple years ago a lady in her 60's needed extra work so my boss hired her. She is AMAZING. I'm the "manager" but we work as a team. I feel like I'm babysitting some of those kids who come in though.